isprm2021 mini banner effect

Keynote Speakers

First Confirmed Keynote Lecturers


Jenitha JohnLuís Roseiro

PhD in Mechanical Engineering. Coordinator Professor at ISEC - Engineering Institute of IPC - Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra, Department of Mechanical Engineering. Research: Applied Biomechanics, Finite Elements, Experimental Mechanics.


Antonio SalgadoAntonio Salgado

PhD in Biology, Materials Science and Engineering- Tissue Engineering and Hybrid Materials, dedicated to CNS regenerative medicine. His research interests are focused on the development of innovative therapies for CNS repair, namely on Spinal Cord Injury and Parkinson’s Disease. He serves as an Associate Editor for Biomed Research International, Biochimie and BMC Neuroscience.



A. Paulo CoimbraAntonio Paulo Coimbra

Antonio Paulo Coimbra received his BSc (1985) and PhD (1996) degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Univ. of Coimbra, Portugal. He has been an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the Univ. of Coimbra since 1996. He is a researcher in the ISR-Institute of Systems and Robotics of the Univ. of Coimbra. His present research interests include f.e.m. electromagnetic and thermal analysis, electromagnetic compatibility, biped robotics, hyper-redundant robots and vision-based robot navigation. He has published over 120 papers in international conferences and about 35 papers on scientific journals.


Francesca GimiglianoFrancesca Gimigliano

Francesca Gimigliano, MD, PhD, is Professor in the Department of Mental and Physical Health and Preventive Medicine at University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli" (in Napoli, Italy), Chair of the Residency Program in Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine, President of the School of Speech and Language Therapy, Chair of Cochran Rehabilitation Communication Working Area. President Elect of the International Society of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine.



Maria do Céu Patrão NevesMaria do Céu Patrão Neves

Maria do Céu Patrão Neves is Professor of Philosophy (Ethics and Philosophical Antropology). She was consultant on Ethics of Life for the President of the Portuguese Republic (2006-2009), and a Member of the National Ethics Committee for Life Sciences (2004-2014), and of the Board of Directors of the International Association of Bioethics/IAB (2003-2009), being also the Coordinator for the IAB’s International Network. She was pioneer in Portugal of special education programs for members of Ethics Committees, which she started in 1995, in several hospitals. In 1996 she gathered the different subjects of this ethical training program and published Ethics Committees: from the theoretical bases to everyday activity (Ponta Delgada, 1996, 202 pp), later completely revised and transformed in a handbook for members of Ethics Committees (Coimbra, 2002, 600 pp.). She has authored several books, as well as collective works, and about 150 papers on philosophy and on bioethics.


 John MelvinJohn Melvin

John Melvin is a physiatrist in Philadelphia, USA. He is Professor Emeritus and Chair Emeritus of his department at Thomas Jefferson University. He specializes in neuromuscular medicine, electromyography, traumatic brain injury, sports medicine, spinal cord injuries, and musculoskeletal disorders. He is the author of hundreds of relevant publications and was ISPRM President from 1999 to 2002.



Linamara BatistellaLinamara Batistella

Professor of Physiatry at the University of São Paulo, Brazil, School of Medicine. Director of the PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center for Rehabilitation and Co-Coordinator of the WHO/WHO Health Related Rehabilitation Guidelines Development Group. She is President of the Paulista Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and Specialist Consultant of the WHO/WHO Rehabilitation Panel. She was ISPRM president from 2004 to 2006.




Gwendolyn SowaGwendolyn Sowa

Dr. Sowa is Co-Director of the Ferguson Laboratory for Orthopaedic and Spine Research at the University of Pittsburgh, USA, and holds joint appointments in the Departments of Orthopaedic Surgery and Bioengineering. She has authored and co-authored over 60 original research publications and 35 book chapters and reviews. She is also the President of the Association of Academic Physiatrists (AAP).




Eiichi SaitohEiichi Saitoh

Professor Eiichi Saitoh (MD, DMSc) is President of Fujita Health University, and Professor of Department of Rehabilitation Medicine I, School of Medicine, Fujita Health University, Aichi, Japan. He serves several roles in rehabilitation medicine in Japan; Japanese Association of Rehabilitation Medicine (Deputy Chairperson and Board Member of Governors), Japan Council on Rehabilitation Education (Chairperson), Japanese Society for Neural Repair and Neurorehabilitation (Board Member of Governors), Japanese Society of Dysphagia Rehabilitation (Board Member of Governors), etc. He was selected as a recipient the Sidney Licht Lectureship Award of ISPRM (Berlin, 2015) and Iida Prize of JSPO (Tokyo, 2017). He is interested in dysphagia, robotics, orthosis, motion analysis, locomotion, exercise science, and psychology.


Gerold StuckiGerold Stucki

Professor and Chair of the Departement of Health Sciences and Medicine at the University of Lucerne and Director of Swiss Paraplegic Research in Nottwil, Switzerland. Director of the ICF Research Branch. Prof. Stucki has been collaborating with the WHO in an international effort to implement the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) in rehabilitation and the health sector in general.




Xanthi MichailXanthi Michail

Xanthi Michail is a physiatrist in Athens, GREECE, Professor Emeritus of Rehabilitation Medicine, School of Health and Care Sciences, UNIWA, Athens and honorary President of the Hellenic Society of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine, since 2013. Her scientific interests focus currently on Ethics in Rehabilitation, Geriatric Medicine, and fragility fractures in elderly.







  • 1


Available soon...

ISPRM 2022 Location

Lisbon Congress Center
Praça das Industrias, 1
1300-307 Lisboa
Tel. (+351) 218 921 400

Abreu Events

Professional Congress Organizer
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
+351 21 415 6120
Av. 25 de Abril, nº 2, 2799-556
Linda-a-Velha, Portugal